Letter from The Ferns: muesli, food hygiene and the Newport Nocturne. August 2012.

Dear All, August has been a good month for my B & B and for English weather! At last!

 We have invested in a proper aerial for the guest room TV instead of set top aerial. The picture and the number of channels available is now top notch.Our latest visitors said “Wow!” as they entered the room!

 My guests can now enjoy my homemade muesli. This means I can ‘tailor make’ my muesli.  I have spent ages searching in the past in supermarkets for muesli with no sugar and no dates. (I hate dates!) So now I make my own. This is the recipe, but I always adapt it according to what’s in the store cupboard

 MY MUESLI

 500pm muesli base 150 gm chopped nuts

25 gm sliced dried apricots 50 gm mixed dried fruit ( eg raisin, sultana, current)

small handful pumpkin seeds  and small handful sunflower seeds

 I generally tend to soak about 2 oz (50gm) of muesli overnight in soyamilk, cows milk or occasionally fruit juice. Here is a photo with a few hedgerow blackberries on top.

 

I have had a visit from Telford & Wrekin Council Environmental Health department and they have given my kitchen and kitchen practices a big thumbs up! Top rating 5/5!  Here’s my certificate:

 

The Nocturne Cycle Race comes to Newport on Saturday 1st September. Starting at 6.30 with a ladies race. About time the ladies were represented -bearing in mind people like Victoria Pendleton! One of the advantages of staying at The Ferns on 1st September, is that you will get a parking space!

Best wishes to you all, Linda

