Letter from The Ferns Vegetarian B & B: vegan granola, leaks and our Heritage Centre, October 2012

 

This is my October letter from The Ferns Vegetarian B & B’ in Newport, Shropshire.

I decided to make my own Granola with maple syrup so that it will suit vegans as well as vegetarians. It worked very well and tastes very good. Here is a picture of my Granola with some fresh fruit underneath and topped off with soya ‘vanilla ‘yoghurt’.

My granola with maple syrup. Yummy!

My recipe is a compilation of granola recipes. I used maple syrup rather than honey to cater for my vegan guests.

6 cups rolled oats ½ cup coarsley chopped walnuts

½ cup almond slivers ½ cup sunflower seeds

1 tsp cinnamon ½ cup oil

1 cup maple syrup 1 tsp vanilla essence

½ cup raisins ½ cup other dried fruit

I preheated the oven to 375F (170 C.). Mixed up all the ingredient except the dried fruit. Placed on a large cooking tray. I stirred occasionally and baked it for about 25 minutes – until it looked a golden colour. Removed from the oven and added the dried fruit.

Dead easy to make and tastes great !

Well the leak on the roof ( see the September letter) got fixed and the stain sealer paint did the trick!

The Newport Nocturne cycle race was a great event for Newport last month, and next week Newport Heritage Centre will be embarking on a new and permanent exhibition about Serck Audco – a big employer of the town. About 10% of the working population worked there, until it was closed in 1999. They were valve manufacturers. As the History Society Archivist, I have been involved in researching and putting up the display. The Heritage Centre is in our Guildhall  –about 5 minutes from my B & B, and very handy for guests to visit if they are here on a Saturday. I am now an expert on all sorts of valves! You name it: ‘Super H’, butterfly, unlubricated  sleeved valves – I am now an expert. Oh dear!  How sad!

Can you tell how old the Guildhall is? It says ‘1613’ on the front, but is that right? I will tell you next month! Best wishes, Linda

Our Heritage Centre, which is in part of The Guildhall

 

