February Letter from The Ferns Vegetarian B & B chatting about planting seeds, a new plum tree and ‘Bath & Breakfast’ for the V festival

Signs of spring in our garden

Signs of spring in our garden

The weather is still very cold in Shropshire but I have started seeds off in my greenhouse and seed potatoes are sprouting in a box on the kitchen floor. One of my friends won a variety of garlic bulbs for planting. As there were so many she gave me three different varieties (see her blog)

I did try growing garlic once before, but, at the end of the growing season they only seemed to be a little bit bigger than what went in! Any way , these are now planted so we shall see what will happen. They came from The Garlic Farm on the Isle of White, where they grow a huge variety.

If you are a guest in summer time, you can have my home-grown tomatoes as part of your vegetarian breakfast.  Maybe this year I can introduce garlic to breakfasts! Only joking  . . .I think!

Our old fir-tree died this winter, so we have cut it down and a young Victoria plum has been put in its place. We tried to find a tree that would be good for both us and for insects. A plum tree seemed to fit the bill. However, I don’t think we shall be having plums this year. We also have three apple trees, a pear, a cherry, a fig, a peach and a grapevine plus rhubarb. So, in the summertime we always have a supply of organic fruits for breakfasts.  Let hope for some sunny weather this year!

I will be doing a ‘Bath and Breakfast’ event at the time of the V Festival at Weston Park. This takes places on the weekend of 17th & 18th August. I am offering bath and veggie  or vegan breakfast on the morning of departure  from the festival. More details to follow in the months ahead. We are only 10 minutes away from Weston Park, which is a lovely place to visit at anytime of the year.

Weston Park

Weston Park

Tuesday April 23rd Newport will be celebrating St Georges Day. More news of this next month. Have a wonderful 2013!

Linda

