April Letter from ‘The Ferns’ Vegetarian B & B: chatting about rhubarb, mushrooms and May Day in Newport

First sight of the forced rhubarb

First sight of the forced rhubarb

Yesterday I picked and cooked the first of my rhubarb. I had it covered over for a month or so, not only to keep the light out, but also to keep it warm; I had heard at the ‘Edible Flower Show’ that the rhubarb will be sweeter as a result.

Rhubarb and cereal

Rhubarb and cereal

Yesterday we had stewed rhubarb on Weetabix. It was lovely! Rhubarb is available for guests through out the summermonths.

I discovered a new website totally devoted to mushrooms.  Run by the Mushroom Marketing Board called www.moretomushrooms.com. It is a brilliant site with lots and lots of recipes ideas for breakfasts, such as ‘Mushroom Tower’ and Minty mushrooms on tomato slices.  I shall try something new for my breakfast menu. Watch this space!

Newport is reinstating it’s old May Day celebration by closing the High Street  and having a Fun Fair on the street from 6pm on Saturday May 4th to midnight on May 5th. The town always had a fair on the High Street before the arrival of the motor car, but it closed due to the pressure of traffic especially from goods traffic. Today we  have our own bypass , so it seems a good time to have the fair on the High Street again.

This is what it looked like before the 1st World War.  I think it will be much louder and garish today, but good fun!

May Fair c 1900

May Fair c 1900

Linda x

