September Letter from The Ferns Veggie B & B chatting about choc Oatly, omelettes, and wildlife in the garden

Oatly Chocolate Drink

oatly

I was asked to review some ‘Oatly’ products recently.  Those of you who read my last letter, will know that ‘Oatly’ comes from Sweden and they are based on organic oats. This month I am tasting  The Chocolate Oat Drink, which has a nice chocolate coloured carton ( see far right). This time I remembered to shake the drink first. Although the original ‘Oatly’ that I tried last month has no added ingredients the chocolate drink does. It has added calcium ( good for  our bones – especially us ladies) Vitamin D ( ditto), and Vit B12 (which makes help red blood cells)  Having broken several bones in  the last 15 years, I was quite pleased to see the added ingredients.

 

oatly choc drink2

 

 

 

Richard tasting Oatly chocolate

Richard (son) tasting Oatly choc drink

 

There were four of us did the  simple drink testing. We could all  smell the chocolate before we even drank it. We drank it straight from the fridge.  Richard said  it was very nice chilled” and Hannah said, “you wouldn’t know there was no milk in it”. My thoughts were exactly the same, but I was also savouring the lovely chocolate flavour!.

oatly choc3

Mike said it tasted like cold ‘hot chocolate so later Mike and  I  heated it up to see how it  tasted as a hot drink.I really liked it – it wasnt as sweet as  instant hot chocolate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So the chocolate drink was very good, and I was pleased to see the added ingredients in it. I will certainly buy it again.  This tasting test was provided by Oatly but all the views are my own. Next month I shall be trying the  Oatly cream  (See all the products are on this link.)

Omelettes

One of my guests recently asked me if I did omelettes. I hadn’t really thought about doing them before, but said  ‘Yes’ . She was so impressed that she ate three by the end of the week she stayed! So here is my omelettes recipe and tips

  •  I dont normally use non stick pans, but do for making omelettes. I use a smallish one with rounded edges
  • Whisk three eggs for one person. Add a little salt and pepper
  • Add a very small quantity of oil to the pan and move it around the pan
  • Put in the eggs on a moderate heat. As the eggs start to set a little, use a  plastic utensil (metal is OK if you dontr have plastic ) and move the omelette around so that you spread the non cooked eggs into the empty areas.

o6

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Turn the heat down to low and let it gently cook for about 30 seconds. At this time add the sliced tomatoes or a thin layer of cheese – perhaps  a half 1 oz ( I use half fat mature cheddar from the Co-op) or any other filling you like. You dont want to swamp the eggs with your filling.
  • At this time check to see if you have any really ‘loose’ areas of eggs, that just need  moving around a bit

o2

  • Loosen the edges with a plastic spatula. At this stage the eggs should just about ‘solidish’ , but not runny.

 

 

 

  • Flip the one side onto the other and slide onto a plate  – again the benefit of having a non-stick pan!

o1

 

Omelettes don’t always need to be folded in half with the filling inside, you can leave the omelette open and sprinkle over your favorite ingredients before finishing it under a hot grill but be careful not to over cook!

o3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The trick is  to keep it moist and  use a low heat.

When you cut into it, you can see how soft it still is.

04

 

 

 

Have a look at Jamie Oliver’s utube  video. It really shows you how simple it is to make one.

 

Wild life in the garden

Last month we had an elephant hawk moth caterpillar in the garden. it was enormous. Perhaps 3 inches!

elephant hawk moth

The actual moth will end up being spectacular, but I doubt that we will ever see one. However here is one from Google images (see below)

 

 

 

 

imagesCAC72Q9I

      Hope you all enjoy my letters. I try to cover a wide range of topics, not just my B & B , so that you can get an idea of what makes me tick!

Linda

 

