January Letter from ‘The Ferns chatting about vegan sausages, being a snow warden and Newport wildlife

Vegan sausages – taste testing

I did a taste testing some time ago  February 2014 which was for a variety of veggie sausages  (veggie and vegan) with a friend. I have been aware of the  Italian sausages from

packages-and-pan

Tofurkey for a while, and so decided to trial them for my B & B. There are many ways to cook these but I fried them gently. However,  you can boil or grill them as well.The main ingredient is tofu. I get them from Holland & Barrett. The brand  comes from the USA.

Vegi deli is the next product, and I am looking at their Lincolnshire Sausages.  I tried Vegideli before – the sage and marjoram – but this time I tried their Lincolnshire sausages Main ingredients -wheat gluten and soya protein. Vegideli are a UK company.

Because I do Sausage Sandwiches for my B & B guests, I tasted these sausage as sandwiches.

sausages-cokking

Here are the two types of sausages cooking. Too be honest, now that I am looking at them a couple of weeks after the testing, I can’t tell which is which product!

I added sautéed onion, red pepper and mushrooms to the sandwiches and the result is a nice moist, tasty sandwich; these are on granary bread.

sausage-sandwichnewMike and I then. Here’s me doing the tasting

me-tasting

The result was that the Tofurkey won hands down. It’s an expensive product – but the taste is so flavoursome and intense; chiefly chilli and tomato – a lovely combination. The main ingredient is tofu which really is so good for us (high in protein & calcium) and amazingly, although an American product, it had no GMOs ( genetically modified organism)

Sorry, Vegideli sausages again not able to compete except perhaps on price – you get  double the number of sausages in the Vegideli  pack as in the Tofurkey.

Pity about the Tofurkey name   its a bit silly really, but their sausages were great!

Being a Snow warden

I am really looking forward to the snow, because I am now a volunteer snow warden. I have had delivered my salt, my hi-viz vest, my shovel and gloves. I have  been given instructions about warming up first ,  not getting too cold,  where to put the snow and how to  spread my salt – very thinly apparently!

I broke my ankle 8 years ago and I go very gingerly on snow and ice these days, so I thought that  by clearing the snow and ice from the pavements outside our house I will benefit, not only  people walking into town but myself as well!

snow-warden

Just need the snow!

Newport Wildlife

We are very fortunate to have a canal running through Newport, and every time we walk along it we see a variety of wildlife. These are some of our photos from 2016

The robin (top left) was  on the path last week. He was very brave, standing on a small twig only about a yard from us. We have swans nesting every year ( top right) and this is this years brood, and a heron ( bottom) whom we suspect catches baby ducks as well as fish. Oh dear!

Well that’s it for now.

Just waiting for the snow so that I can demonstrate my snow shovelling skills. Watch this space, there may be more pictures in my February letter.

Linda

 

